Five Favorite Bedtime Books

Reading has always been a big part of our family rituals. I’ve been reading to Alex since he was a day old. I’d hold the book up for him and read out loud all the funny sound effects and voices. My husband is the best for the voices, throwing his voice an octave pitch high for little birds or low for big bears, acting out as silly as possible.

Now Alex can turn the pages by himself and excitedly points at his favorite parts. Every night, he gets to choose the books to read before bedtime. These are his most cherished stories.

What books do your children love? I need some ideas to throw in some variety!

Are You My Mother? By P.D. Eastman A sweet little story about a little birdie's determination and love to find his mother. The ending is so tender as they finally reunite.

Moo, Baa, La La La! By Sandra Boynton Alex gets to practice all his barnyard animal sounds, and loves to shake his finger at the three little pigs. "No, no, no. You say oink!"

We're Going on a Bear Hunt, By Michael Rosen You'll be chanting the rhythmic sentences as the family goes on an adventure through tall grass, mud, river, forest and more. And what happens when they finally find a bear? That's where there's a little excitement for the end.

Counting Kisses, By Karen Katz My favorite part is when he produces his feet so I can smooch his little toes.

Time For Bed, by Mem Fox And here we wind down the evening with soft, quiet moments between mamas and babies, and final sweet good-nights before it's finally time for bed.

8 Comments

Filed under My Life, Putting Baby to Sleep

8 responses to “Five Favorite Bedtime Books

  1. The last couple of weeks, all Li’l D’s wanted to read is stories from his big Dora storybook. Occasionally he’ll deviate and want to read Curious George Goes Fishing. Apart from that, these are his favorite books:
    * Wherever You Are My Love Will Find You
    * Guess How Much I Love You
    * Jacob Lawrence in the City

    • It comes as no surprise that you would have suggestions for books! And two of them are the kind that bring a tear to a mother’s eye. I’ll be adding them to my collection on my next online shopping spree. Alex LOVES Curious George and he’s never read that one! I’ll keep that one for our daytime reading though… otherwise Alex will only want to practice fishing instead of sleeping!

  2. Hey, Karla! As soon as I saw the title of your post (before I opened it), I thought to myself– I will have to suggest to her “Are You My Mother?”. It’s my Jacob’s very favorite book right now. And, I love it too! We’ve been reading it nearly every day for the last week or so since someone gave it to us! I will have to check out the other titles you listed! Jacob also really likes “Ten Little Fish” (Audrey & Bruce Wood) and “Baby Bear, Baby Bear, What Do You See?” (Bill Martin Jr & Eric Carle). Hope all is well– my life has been too crazy to blog lately, but someday I’ll catch up on things! 🙂

    • Hi Nikki! What a coincidence that our sons share the same taste in literature! Thanks for the suggestions. I’ll add them to our repertoire. Glad to hear I’m not the only one with difficulty catching up with blog posts. I’m looking forward to your next one, as I love hearing what’s new with your boys!

  3. CJ

    It’s always good to get new recommendations as I (not my daughter) am heartily sick of reading the same books over and over again. Poppy’s current favourite is a story called A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Philip C. Stead. The story is sweet and the illustrations interesting enough to keep the story fresh after even the 50th reading!

    • Thanks for the suggestion! You know you’ve read it too often when you start reading it by rote. Somehow, it delights them as much as it did the first time.
      I’ll be making another post later this month about our favorite books for the daytime. I’m really fond of big books with beautiful illustrations.

  4. My son and I recently started reading Snuggle Piggy and the Magic Blanket as our final book of the evening every night. It was one of my favorites as a child, and I was happy to find that although it’s out of print, it’s available used. I love the internet!

    We also enjoy the classic Goodnight Moon.

    I’m going to add “We’re Going on a Bear Hunt” to our wish list. Chubbs will like that one. Thanks!

    • How wonderful that you can share your favorite childhood book with your son! Goodnight Moon is on our shelves, but his love for it has waned. I think he’s ready for more complex stories, like your Snuggle Piggy.
      I bet Chubbs loves reading books. He was so verbal at a young age!

Leave a Reply

