When mom is at work…

I’m really feeling good about the daycare I found for my little guy. The webcam, which I have opened all day while I’m at work, gives me a much-needed link to him. Yes, I do manage to get work done. Actually, a lot of work done. Without it, I would be a wreck and would not be able to concentrate on any tasks.

Here are a few things I have seen him do that squeeze my heart:

– He’s started a book club. Regularly, he will sit down and pull out a book from the shelves. Seconds later, two or three other toddlers join him. I imagine they discuss the incredible appetite of the Hungry Little Caterpillar, perhaps as a metaphor for his emotional desire for love, but then all agree that he must just love eating fruit.

– He puts a doll on the floor, covers it up with a tiny blanket and pats its back. Maybe it’s some type of cognitive therapy for his sleep issues?

– When he’s done with his lunch, he takes his plate and gives it to his caregiver. Sometimes, he empties out the leftovers in the trash himself. I’m so proud.

My colleagues love to peek inside the daycare bubble too. It’s a little world, safe and snug, of toddler fun, naps and snack time, which cheers up just about any curmudgeon.

But there’s another reason for my “spying”, as one friend called it. I want to know what he’s up to, so I can share his day though we are apart. When I pick him up, we “talk” about his day and how great it was. If the lesson plan was about apples, that’s what we talk about when I put him in the car seat. My daycare ladies also provide me with notes in their Toddler Daily Report.

The best part of my day is picking him up after a long shift at work, learning about the fun and games, the number of diaper changes, his nap times (was it a good one?) and tasty meals.

These read like the finest literature for me:

6 Comments

Filed under Daycare, My Life

6 responses to “When mom is at work…

  1. Anonymous

    You are fortunate to have found a good daycare that does that. Sounds like that is the next best thing to him being home with you or your own family.

    • I am very lucky indeed. I know that’s not the case for everyone, and I hope I didn’t sound like I was gloating. I have had to visit MANY daycares to find this great one, and I’m paying through the nose for it. But I see the great results, so I’m happy.

  2. I actually made this comment….not sure how it got posted as “anonymous” 😛

  3. The book club is too cute!

    I am so happy to have a daycare with a webcam. I don’t even get to watch that often, but just knowing that I could if I wanted to puts my mind at ease. I’m having a hard time managing the cost, yet I can’t imagine being as content with my son’s care anywhere else. That makes it worth it.

Leave a Reply

