Baby Muffins

We’ve just survived a bout of eye infections, ear infection, runny nose, cough and last, but not least, gastro. In other words, he had the plague.

It’s been a long road back to health, and it’s also been difficult to find ways to tempt his appetite. I’m usually quite lucky on that front. Though he has a rough time sleeping, he is not a picky eater and most of the time even loves broccoli. There are days he eats so well, it looks like I’m shoveling coal into his mouth.

This time, it’s taken a while to regain his usual feeding frenzy. When he’s getting over an illness, I always make chicken broth from scratch. When he’s willing to slurp that up, I also bake him some healthy muffins. He devours them, and most of his baby friends do too when they come to visit. The parents love them too. So I thought I’d share our favorite muffin recipe with you:

Zippy Muffins are made with raspberries.

Banana Flax Muffins (makes about 12)

Dry ingredients:

1 2/3 cups unbleached flour

1/3 cup flaxmeal

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tbsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. nutmeg

Wet ingredients:

4 mashed bananas

1/2 cup of applesauce, or more if you need to add moistness to the batter.

1/2 cup of vegetable oil

2 eggs

1 tbsp. vanilla extract

A dash of whole milk, just enough to make it a little more wet when mixing into dry ingredients.

Simple instructions: Mix wet into dry ingredients. Don’t overmix. Bake at 350 for about 25-30 minutes. You can add raspberries or other fruit into the wet ingredients, but keep at least 2 mashed bananas.

For the vegan version, my Zippy muffins, see this post on my food blog. I assure you that unlike most vegan muffins, these are light and airy.

For simple chicken soup, here’s my remedy for the flu.

4 Comments

Filed under My Life

4 responses to “Baby Muffins

  1. Oh my gosh! 1) I love baking healthy muffins. Thanks for the recipe! 2) I didn’t realize you had a food blog! I’m so glad you shared the link so I can follow that one too. 🙂

    • It’s hard to make tasty muffins with minimum fat and sugar. I created these after much fiddling with the ingredients. By far, the secret is the flaxmeal. Toasty nutty flavour, healthy Omega-3 fat, and adds moistness too. Don’t skip it!
      I’d love to read your favourite muffin recipe too!

  2. I may just be buying ingredients for this during tomorrow’s shopping trip!

    Glad the little one’s through the storm, or so it sounds like?

    • Yes, he’s passed through, but still quite crabby. Thank you!
      I hope the muffins come out to your taste. I highly recommend adding raspberries. I just didn’t have any on hand.

Leave a Reply

