Woohoo!

Please play this song to best appreciate the importance of this post.

 

OK, it’s playing right? Here goes:

Last night, my little guy slept for 7 hours without interruption.

I put him down at 8pm, with the usual breastfeeding ritual, and he did not wake until 3am!

After 4 hours, I went to bed, convinced he’d wake up the moment my head hit the pillow, but not a peep. So I lay awake, waiting and waiting. At 1am, I heard a little cry and I sneaked into his room.  I would not have believed it had I not seen it with my own eyes. My baby just rolled over and went BACK to sleep by himself.

I wanted to organize a block party and skip down the street in delirious joy!

OK, I was just delirious. And way too excited to fall asleep. So I wasted that precious time and got only 3 hours of sleep. I kept thinking this was the beginning of a new era.

Will the gods punish me for my hubris? Whatever! Let them try. I’m prepared for the inevitable setback, but I won’t despair because I know if he did it once, he can do it again.

But here’s praying he’ll do it again tonight, because I really need to sleep. Good night!

PS: I will be over-analyzing this moment in a later post. I’m wondering myself what I did differently, or what has changed in his life to achieve this momentous milestone.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Woohoo!

  1. I just have to remind myself that every time they do something like that (go back to sleep on their own), it’s one more time of practice, strengthening their ability to do it again. So even if there’s a set-back, this night still counts! One more night of practice, and one more step to finally “getting it”.

    • Thanks so much Shane! I absolutely agree. They’re learning all the time. I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. I’m happy to hear you are doing better on the sleep front too.

  2. Woo-hoo! Here’s hoping this is the beginning of a trend. 🙂

    • Thanks Deborah. So far, so good. He has a cold now. I knew there would be a setback!
      Hey, congratulations for getting freshly pressed, AGAIN! You got the magic touch.

  3. Jess

    Congratulations! I hope the over-analysis will include an update that says you are continuously well-rested. 😉

    • Thanks Jess. Unfortunately, as expected, it’s still a work in progress. Some nights are better than others. Still, every time he’s changed his pattern, it’s taken a while after the “first appearance” to become a regular habit. I’ve been patient for this long, I can wait a bit longer!

Leave a Reply

