Sick and Tired!

The last couple of nights have been rough. My baby got a reaction from his recent vaccinations and had a mild fever for two days. Poor little guy!

Poor mommy too. I had to get up almost every hour to nurse him back to sleep. A few Tylenol drops helped, but not enough I’m sure to soothe the aches and pains when you have a fever.

When I realized that hourly wakings was going to be the pattern for the whole night, I brought my son back to bed with me. He still woke up every hour, but at least I was right next to him.

It was a bittersweet moment… I remembered how lovely it was to co-sleep with him. I missed his breathing next to me. Then, last night at 3am, he woke up pushing against me. His fever had broken and I was cramping his style. I nursed him back to sleep, put him back in his crib and he slept until morning.

I’m not out of the woods yet. Whenever a baby is sick, it takes a few days to recover completely. I just think how it felt for me when I was little and sick. It wasn’t so much the physical discomfort that I remember, but the need to snuggle because I felt weak and vulnerable.

And that thought provides me the extra patience to get through some dreadful nights.

Leave a comment

Filed under Co-sleeping, My Personal Experience

Leave a Reply

