Happy Mother’s Day!

I learned recently that I used to wake up every hour at night when I was a baby. And my mom, God bless her, would comfort me back to sleep every time. She never left me crying in the crib. Then in the morning, a neighbour would take care of me while my mother took a nice long nap.

So it’s not surprising that my little guy has a similar sleeping pattern. I know how my baby feels too, “Why sleep? It’s such a waste of time.” I actually remember that thought clearly as a little girl. So I know that a wind-down routine, to ease into bedtime, would be the most important aspect of my sleep plan for my boy.

And knowing how difficult it was for my mom has given me an extra reserve of patience. If she could do it, so can I. She’s passed on to me the key to making it through the sleepless nights: part infinite love for your baby, and part “do-what-you-gotta-do” gumption. This was her best, most important, advice to me when I was freaking out the first month of being a mom: Remain calm, and carry on.

Well, I just want to thank my mom for everything she did for me. I’m the person, and the mother, I am today because of her.

2 Comments

Filed under My Personal Experience

2 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. sheilahageman

    Very well-said. I wish my mom was here today so I could thank her, too.

Leave a Reply

